Immenhof OST (original music by Hannes De Maeyer) now available

OUT NOW: Original music by HANNES DE MAEYER for IMMENHOF – DAS ABENTEUER EINES SOMMERS (now in German theatres)
Original score for the long-awaited remake of German family film ‘Immenhof’ – composed by Hannes De Maeyer -now available
Since Thursday 17 January, ‘Immenhof – Ein Abenteuer eines Sommers’ is being distributed in German theatres on almost 600 copies simultaneously.
In only ten days, the film, directed by the immensely popular Sharon von Wietersheim, attracted over 300.000 fans, becoming an instant box office hit.
Since last Thursday 17 January, Germany embraced the release of ‘IMMENHOF – DAS ABENTEUER EINES SOMMERS’, as already more than 300.000 filmgoers went to see the long-awaited family film directed by Sharon von Wietersheim.
The film tells the story of three sisters, sixteen year old Lou, Charly who is in her early twenties and Emmie who is a mere child. After the death of their father, they have to try and run the family’s horse farm between them. The sisters have to overcome all manner of adversity in order to keep their beloved farm.
‘Immenhof – Das Abenteuer eines Sommers’ is already preceded by several films taking place at this horse farm, the first one being ‘Die Mädels vom Immenhof’ in 1955, followed by 4 others before ZDF produced an entire ‘Immenhof’ TV series in the 90s.
Hannes De Maeyer is mostly known through his collaboration with the internationally acclaimed directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah, who are currently working on the US production ‘Bad Boys for Life’. Hannes composed the original music for all of their three features: ‘Gangsta’ (Patser), ‘Black’ (winner Discovery Award at Toronto International Film Festival) and ‘Image’.
For the original score for ‘Immenhof – Das Abenteuer eines Sommers’, Hannes De Maeyer delivers a good old nostalgic symphonic score which, at certain moments, is alternated with jazzy & pop cues. The original music was recorded by the Hungarian Studio Orchestra and soloists Pallieter Van Buggenhout on guitar, Bram Raeymaekers on drums and Thibaut Talpe on upright bass.
Composer Hannes De Maeyer about creating the original score for ‘Immenhof – Das Abenteuer eines Sommers’:
“Collaborating with Sharon was a real pleasure! As a director she is able to communicate her ideas and thoughts in a very sensitive way, which resulted into genuine scenes.
On the one hand, we went for a classic orchestral score, combined with synths, in order to emphasize the grandeur and emotionality of the film. In addition, for a selection of other scenes, we elaborated a rather smaller jazzy/pop acoustic sound, containing a touch of tenderness. The main ‘Immenhof’ theme for instance, recurs several times, but in different ways: grandiose in the ‘Main Theme’, rather mournful in ‘Lou Is Sad’ or ‘Videos of Her Father’ or uplifting in ‘Lou and the Herd’ or ‘We Meet Again’.”
Director Sharon von Wietersheim about the collaboration with Hannes De Maeyer:
“Hannes did such a terrific job, delivering a wonderful score for ‘Immenhof – Das Abenteuer eines Sommers’, that I would never want to work with any other composer again!”
1. Main Theme – 02:30
2. Lou and the Herd – 01:06
3. Swamp – 04:05
4. Connection – 00:55
5. Happy Life in Immenhof – 00:45
6. Letter – 01:30
7. Beach – 00:58
8. Selling Food – 01:09
9. Krümel – 00:30
10. Father’s Jacket – 00:49
11. Transferring Holly – 01:51
12. Olympic Medal – 00:41
13. Breaking Into the Stables – 01:48
14. Freeing Holly – 01:08
15. Lou is Sad – 01:03
16. Cagliostro Escapes – 00:40
17. Videos of Her Father – 03:21
18. Training Cagliostro – 01:09
19. Kiss – 00:53
20. Going to Mallinckroth – 00:55
21. Second Chance – 01:32
22. Training Succeeded – 01:04
23. Building Up to the Race – 02:33
24. Race – 01:47
25. Fixing the Problem – 01:31
26. Holly is Pregnant – 03:00
27. We Meet Again – 01:47
Original Soundtrack Credits:
Music Composed, Arranged and Produced by Hannes De Maeyer
Orchestrations by Nicolas De Cock and Arthur Grósz
Score Mixed by Patrick Lemmens
Music Edited by Michaël Penson and Pieterjan Seynaeve
Composer’s Assistant: Thibaut Talpe

Orchestra: Hungarian Studio Orchestra
Conducted by Péter Illényi
Orchestra Leader: Balázs Bujtor
Guitars: Pallieter Van Buggenhout
Drums: Bram Raeymaekers
Upright Bass: Thibaut Talpe
Piano and Programming: Hannes De Maeyer

Orchestra Recorded by Tamás Kurina at Tom-Tom Studio, Budapest, Hungary
Drums Recorded by Jesse De Roo at Room 13, Ghent, Belgium
Score Mixed at Galaxy Studios, Mol, Belgium

About Hannes De Maeyer:
Hannes De Maeyer is one of Belgium’s most versatile composers, best known for his collaboration with director duo Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah, recently listed among ‘Variety’s 10 Directors to watch’ with their third feature Gangsta (Patser). His scores ranges from pure electronic to impressive symphonic instrumentation, as well as everything in between.

Leave a Reply