French Actress Anaïs Demoustier – President of the 76th Festival de Cannes Caméra d’or Jury

The President of the Caméra d’Or Jury of the 76th Festival de Cannes is appointed French actress Anaïs Demoustier. The Caméra d’Or proceeds to one of the debut feature films in the Official Selection and parallel sections.

The Festival de Cannes celebrates the emotion of beginnings, youth as a source of inspiration, and freshness as a force of conviction, prizing its Caméra d’Or, a trophy symbolizing the prime tool of the cinematographic look, and by selecting actress Anaïs Demoustier to preside over the Jury.

In 2022, the Caméra d’Or, supervised by Rossy de Palma, awarded directors Riley Keough and Gina Gammel for their “War Pony”. And Japanese director Hayakawa Chie received a Mention spéciale (special award) for her film Plan 75, and both films were in the Official Selection of Un Certain Regard.

The Jury will award its Caméra d’Or during the 76th Festival de Cannes finale ceremony on Saturday, May 27.

«Among my greatest joys as a spectator is seeing the debut film of a director who goes on to become a major force. A gesture, the first one, one that forever anchors the necessity of a director and creates a desire to see him or her begin again. As an actress, I’ve been lucky to experience alongside young directors the delicate balance between nervous energy and a desire to see through their first creation. I am very honored and looking forward to discovering debut films at Cannes this year as President of the Caméra d’Or Jury. Promises and surprises from around the world to remind us how important cinema is…» – Anaïs Demoustier, President of the Caméra d’Or Jury.

The Caméra d’or is awarded to the best first feature film presented in the official Selection, in the Semaine de la Critique, or in the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. It is designed to encourage young creation and it is a catalyst for the career of filmmakers as it offers them a unique, international showcase. Past winners of the Caméra d’Or include Jim Jarmusch, Jafar Panahi, Ildikó Enyedi, Short film and La Cinef Jury President of the 76th Festival de Cannes, or even Steve McQueen and Anthony Chen, both in Official selection this year.