The First-ever “Earthshot Prize” Winners Announced

Some of the world’s biggest celebrities joined Britain’s Prince William in London on Sunday night for the first-ever “Earthshot Prize” awards ceremony.

The award, created by Prince William, the Duke of Cambridge, was inspired by John F. Kennedy’s “Moonshot” pledge to get Americans on the moon. The Earthshot is also designed to inspire innovation — but not to reach the heavens. The Earthshot is a bid to keep the planet we currently inhabit liveable for future generations.

The prizes bring recognition and a significant chunk of funding for people working on innovative solutions to major environmental crises facing the Earth, and as CBS News correspondent Charlie D’Agata reports, the stars came out to help save the planet.

Emma Watson, earthshot prize
Emma Watson
The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, earthshot prize
The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge
Clara Amfo, earthshot prize
Clara Amfo
Emma Thompson, earthshot prize
Emma Thompson